Outstanding Veterinary Anatomist Award

Through the Outstanding Veterinary Anatomist Award, the American Association of Veterinary Anatomists recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to anatomical education and/or research. One recipient is typically chosen each year that the AAVA holds a meeting, with the award presented at that meeting. Currently, meetings of the AAVA occur every two years.

Award Nomination Requirements

All members of the AAVA in good standing are invited to nominate candidates for this award. A nomination package includes the following:

  • A letter of nomination describing the nominee’s contributions to teaching and/or research,
  • Two additional letters of support for the nomination,
  • A curriculum vitae of the nominee (this need not be exhaustive),
  • A selection of the more significant research or educational papers published by the nominee.

Because some AAVA members work at smaller institutions with fewer colleagues, it is acceptable for letters of support to originate from non-AAVA members.

Selection Process

The AAVA Executive Committee calls for nominations early in the calendar year of a scheduled AAVA meeting. The AAVA President nominates members for the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee carefully considers the eligible nominations and selects the award recipient. The Awards Committee is not obligated to grant an award each year.


Any nominee not chosen for an award may be considered for subsequent awards. It is the nominator’s responsibility to resubmit a nomination package prior to the next award’s deadline.

For further information, please contact Dave Cross at .

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Recipient’s Institution
2019 Leslie Sprunger Washington State University
2015 Baljit Singh University of Saskatchewan
2013 Louise C. Abbott Texas A&M University
2011 Cornelia E. Farnum Cornell University
2009 Dallas M. Hyde UC Davis
2007 Laurie A. Jaeger Texas A&M University
2005 Gerald Bratton
Peter Flood
Texas A&M University
University of Saskatchewan
1999 Gheorghe M. Constantinescu University of Missouri
1995 Ralph L. Kitchell UC Davis
1993 Alexander deLahunta
Thomas F. Fletcher
Cornell University
University of Minnesota
1992 H-Dieter Dellman
Wolfgang O. Sack
Iowa State University
Cornell University
1990 Howard E. Evans Cornell University
1989 Alvin F. Weber University of Minnesota
1988 Robert E. Habel Cornell University

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Howard Evans receives his AAVA Lifetime Achievement AwardAt the AAVA meeting at Cornell University in 2011, Dr. Howard Evans was presented with an AAVA Lifetime Achievement Award for his exceptional contributions to anatomical education and research.